About Learning Away

Learning Away Consortium


In December 2015, the Paul Hamlyn Foundation agreed to provide a further two years of Learning Away ‘legacy’ funding  – to help ensure that all of the work achieved so far could be disseminated and shared more widely with schools and therefore have a greater and longer lasting impact. This legacy funding will be used to encourage many more schools to make a significant shift in their commitment to providing high-quality residential learning experiences or brilliant residentials for their students.

The funding has been awarded to a new Learning Away legacy ‘consortium’, a partnership or alliance of like-minded organisations working on behalf of the sector and led by the Council for Learning Outside the Classroom (CLOtC). The main aims of this consortium are:

  1. To ensure a lasting legacy for the Learning Away programme
  2. To promote and champion residential learning to enable more young people to benefit from these experiences
  3. To ensure more effective and high-quality residential experiences
  4. To develop as a leading voice for residential learning.

The  funding will enable this consortium to:

  • Develop and implement a Learning Away/brilliant residentials ‘campaign’ with a focus on influencing schools, residential providers and policy makers (using impact evidence from the evaluation of Learning Away)
  • Develop and pilot a CPD programme for schools (using the learning developed by the 60 Learning Away ‘action research’ schools throughout the programme)
  • Investigate opportunities for further research.

Learning Away Consortium Members and Advisers

  • Council for Learning Outside the Classroom (CLOtC) –  Elaine Skates (Lead Organisation)
  • Association of Heads of Outdoor Education Centres (AHOEC) – Louise Edwards
  • Brathay Trust – Lucy Maynard
  • British Activity Providers Association (BAPA) – Denea Wright
  • English Outdoor Council (EOC) – Martin Smith
  • Field Studies Council (FSC) – Rob Lucas
  • Girl Guiding – Robert Taylor
  • Institute for Outdoor Learning (IOL) – Andy Robinson
  • Outdoor Education Advisers Panel (OEAP) – Mike Penny
  • Royal Geographical Society (RGS) – Steve Brace
  • SYHA Hostelling Scotland – Lois Marshall
  • Specialist Schools and Academies Trust (SSAT) – Sylvia King
  • Scout Adventures – Lyndsey Nassim
  • Youth Hostel Association – Joe Lynch (Chair)

Follow Learning Away on Twitter or subscribe to the Learning Away e-newsletter to find out more.